THUNK. THUNK. THUNK. THUNK. THUNK…

That, my friends, is the sound of my forehead repeatedly THUNKING against the wall. Well, not really — if I started all that, I’d probably wake up someone else, so I’ll have to settle for fantasizing about it.

I have to be at work at 3 a.m. today, which meant I have to get up at 1:30 a.m. to shower and all that, which meant I tried to go to sleep pretty early in the evening. I laid down at about 6:40. The house was empty, cool and quiet: perfect. I didn’t take any Benadryl or NyQuil because I’ve done this before without a problem. I was an idiot.

It took my brain a long time to settle down so I could sleep at all. I didn’t sleep well, although once Danny got home with Zoey later, he did a remarkable, possibly award-winning job of keeping her quiet and making sure I wasn’t disturbed. He came to bed awhile ago, I guess about 11:30, and my brain went “YAY! It’s daytime! I’m up!” and ZOOM off it went again. And now I. Am. So. Awake.

Oh well… I guess it gives me a head start: Happy Birthday to me. :)

