I was getting sleepy, but I stayed up to watch the end of the BCS championship game. Game ended, I tried to go to sleep. Nothing.

I’ve been taking melatonin supplements for a week or so, and I’ve been sleeping a lot easier. I took one tonight, and I don’t know what happened to it, but it’s not doing squat. I’m so exhausted. I was up late last night too, although I honestly don’t remember why. So tomorrow (today) is going to really be lousy.

It wasn’t a great evening. Kept getting upset, choked up. Mind kept floating around and lighting on the things that upset me the most. Maybe that’s why I can’t sleep. But it’s so hot under that quilt, my new extra-firm pillows are lumpy and hot, the bed feels tiny… I can’t get comfortable, nothing close to comfortable. And ever since I turned the light off, I’ve been spooked. Seeing shadows in the dark. Hearing things. Usually the sounds are the rats, our little nocturnal party animals that wrestle and squeak and eat and drink off and on all night. But all the same, one sound, and my eyes are open. The seeing things is a bit much. Maybe I should just give up and sleep in the freaking living room with all the lights on and my earplugs in.

I’m trying REALLY hard to resist adding yet another prescription to my meds pile. I don’t want to have to take prescription sleeping pills, but this is damned ridiculous. I’m tired! I have to work tomorrow! Instead I’m up, whipping my head around at things I think I see.

This shit is really getting old.

